COPD/Hypoxic Drive Question

jrm818

Forum Captain
Hey All - I'm an EMT student at the moment, and was randomly inspired to investigate the possible problem with giving O2 to a COPD patient - I've been staling these forums for a bit now, and was hoping maybe somebody could bring me out of the dark.

Let me preface this by saying that I konw you're supposed to give high flow O2 if indicaed, regardles of COPD status, and just be ready for any problems - that isn't the source of my confusion....but I got curious about exactly what is going on with COPD patients who have transitioned to a hypoxic respiratory drive.

From what I gather the transition to hypoxic drive from CO2 controled respiration occurs because of some combination of at least two things. Namely
1. The down-regulation or degredaditon of chemoreceptors which normally detect the ph of the blood and adjust respiration accordingly

and

2. An increase in the activity of the liver to remove carbonic acid from the blood and increase the buffering of the blood (leading to a stable ph even in the presence of CO2 levels which would raise PH in a normal patient). Assuming that's correct, that part makes sense to me.

What I dont' understand is why such a patient would degrade when placed on high-flow O2. The explination I've heard is that as the P02 of the blood increases, the body of the COPD patient decides that the current respiraiton rate is more than sufficent, and retards respiration. That makes sense too. But supposedly such a patient will become hypoxic, and eventually go into respiratory arrest. That makes no sense to me :unsure: - it seems that such a patient would be fully able to respond to a decrease in oxygen in the blood and increase respirations again until adequate oxygenation is restored.