Central Florida Employment-EMT

Silfie

Forum Ride Along
So I'm a recent EMT grad, pursuing my Paramedic cert and A.S. in EMS. I've been applying constantly to every opening in the area(and a little outside the area) for EMT and Patient Care Tech. I can't even get an interview!!! Obviously, I lack experience but don't know where to begin to obtain some if nobody will give me a chance. I have a professional resume and good driving record.
Any advice? What am I NOT doing? I even signed up to volunteer at a hospital and they don't seem to want me for free?!

EMTSTUDENT25

Forum Lieutenant
A lot of the hospitals are doing away with tech positions from what I hear...my advice, try Rural Metro, they do IFT and have a 911 contract with the city of Orlando. Also put a comment card in with American Ambulance, however they don't run emergency calls

akhan36

Forum Ride Along
any luck with the search, I am considering attending next semester for EMT to gain experience for PA school. How is the schedule if you did get a job, if not where have you looked? Thanks

Underoath87

Forum Asst. Chief
American Ambulance seems to be hiring small groups about every other month. We pretty much only require an EMT cert, EVOC, and a pulse :/
Oh, and we do occasionally get emergency (code 3) calls, but no 911 calls.

Just walk in to the Orlando office before 5pm on any weekday and ask to fill out a job app form.

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
S

Silfie

Forum Ride Along
Finally!

Thanks for the advice. I completed pre-employment testing about 3 weeks ago with Lake EMS and they haven't notified me of the results yet. Today I took a test for American Ambulance and scored 22/25. They told me the results right away and I have an interview scheduled for this Thursday. I was told to expect some "getting-to-know-you" type questions and scenarios. Any advice on what to expect in the interview? I'm super anxious about it.

Hunter

Forum Asst. Chief