Career advice/info.. RN/RRT?

MedRhett

Forum Probie
Hey..

I've been a lurker for quite awhile and figured I'd post as I would like to get some of your thoughts/opinions on a career path.

A little background first.... I recently got out of the military and will be going to work for a large county system as an EMT-B next month. Once I have some time and experience under my belt as an EMT-B, I want to go for EMT-P.

Also, I'm planning on going back to school eventually, part-time. I'm just trying to decide whether or not to go for RN/BSN or RRT. I already have a 4-year degree, so I could probably get through either program in two or three years - maybe a little longer, going part-time. Long term, I'd love to work for the local flight team.

For those of you that are RNs/RRTs, what are the pros/cons? I'm already somewhat familiar with RRTs, as my son had a trache...

Thanks in advance!
Rhett

Flight-LP

Forum Deputy Chief
Honestly, if you are looking at Respiratory Therapy or Nursing, then pursue them. Do not fall into a stagnation that is quite rampant in EMS, especially at the BLS level. Also, why wait to get your Paramedic if that is also a consideration? Why not do it now? Experience is not required in most places and I for one see no benefit in delaying further significant education to use your BLS skills. Plus, there is a high chance that you will develop bad habits that may actually hinder your advancement into ALS care.

Ultimately, the decision will be a personally motivated one, but if you are looking for a successful career and already have a degree, I would consider the financial benefits of your first two ideas and weigh all options and their respective Pro's and Con's...............

What major is your degree in?

Good luck to you.......................

VentMedic

Forum Chief
If you have to even ask RN or RRT, then go with RN.