Cal State Univ Sacramento vs UCLA Paramedic School

E

EMRRx

I have just applied to the CSU Sacramento Paramedic Program. I will also apply to the UCLA Paramedic Program in the case that I do not get accepted up here in Northern California.

I want to get an idea of what my chances of getting accepted might be based on my education so far?

I have an A.S. degree in Fire Science for our local Junior College. I graduated from the Junior College Fire Academy and the Junior College EMT Program. I am currently completing a 1 year Reserve Fire Fighter program with a local Fire Department. In addition, I work part time/on call as an EMT for ProTransport-1.
I am also finishing my final 2 classes(Chem and Math) this semester before transfering into the Universtiy to finish my bachelors in Business Administration after Paramedic School.

My goal is to become a Fire Fighter Paramedic and going into to this career, I had no idea just how many years of school this actually takes to become well qualified and marketable. I am in the middle of my 5th year of college right now, and I have 4 more years to go in completing my Paramedic program and Bachelors degree.

From my online research, these 2 schools, CSU Sacramento(up north) and UCLA(down south) seem to be the top two Paramedic programs in California?

Any graduates out there from either of these two Universities that can give me some insight into their Paramedic programs and my chances of getting accepted the first time?

Last edited by a moderator:

terrible one

Always wandering
I know nothing of CSU sac, wasn't even aware they have a paramedic school.
My info from UCLA is all second hand, however, I've worked with or known more than a dozen of their graduates.
#1 UCLA costs around $10k.
#2 More than 2/3rd of their class is fulltime firefighters, leaving few spots for civilians
#3 Internships are done in LA county at a FD. LA co has the most limited scope of practice in CA.