Best 911 operations to work at in CA?

sunshine girl

Forum Probie
Hi everyone, you may remember me if you read my post “Am I getting fired” a few weeks ago. Since I was indeed asked to resign from my position at AMR Santa Barbara, I’m now looking to possibly relocate so I can continue pursuing 911. Somewhere in the east bay would be awesome since I have a lead on a great housing arrangement there, but all I can find online is information on IFT companies and fire in the Oakland/Alameda area. Does fire really handle all the EMS there, or am I missing something? Can you work on a fire owned ambulance if you don’t have any training as a firefighter? Santa Cruz would also be great but I’ve heard that AMR only staffs dual medic cars there, so that wouldn’t work for me since I’m just an EMT. Any advice from people working in those places, or just people who can reccomend a good EMS job in CA would be much appreciated! Thanks in advance you guys.

Here’s three services in the Central Valley that immediately come to mine as places to gain good 911 experience.

1. Hall Ambulance (Bakersfield)
2. Riggs Ambulance (Merced)
3. American Ambulance (Fresno)

I can’t speak for the Bay Area as I’m not familiar with their EMS operations.

@Aprz, can you chime in?

Last edited:

RocketMedic

Californian, Lost in Texas
Off the top of my head, Paramedics Plus in Alameda County seems to be a place that runs 911. Personally, I'd look hard at commuting inland to Riggs (Merced), American (Fresno), American (Visalia), Hall (you'd likely have to move to Bakersfield), Liberty-Ridgecrest (commute, but long hours make it OK).

If you're in the SF area, I'm just going to randomly say whoever does EMS in Ukiah. It's a relatively rural area, there's a lot of people out there, and it's far enough away from AMR that you're not going to have to get silly.

Bi-County Ambulance in Yuba City exists, that's all I know. They took good care of Grandma several times.