Backing Ambulance into Bay

Markhk

Forum Lieutenant
Hey Guys,

Does anyone have any tips about how to back an ambulance (something like a Type III ambulance) into an ambulance bay WITHOUT a spotter?

I am completely new to having to back without a spotter but it's just the way the hospital is set up. The first time I did it (Friday) I ended up double parking in two spaces. Embarrassing!

(I do recognize that backing without a spotter is the most risky for any ambulance operator.)

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
Practice! I spent quite a bit of time practicing parking the ambulance in different spots.

Use the lines on the ground as a guide. The mirrors are deceiving, so you'll have to practice to see the difference between what it looks like in the mirror and what it's really like.

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
practice practice practice. set up a cone course at the station. if your out cruising around in the unit, head over to the H and back her in.

Grady_emt

Forum Captain
Who cares if you take up two spots, just DONT DENT THE EGG!!!!

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
One of the EMS services I worked at had painted small lines to place the tires to allign on, to back up.

R/r 911

PArescueEMT

Forum Bartender
i agree... it's all practice. the more you get, the better you will be. If on standby and not in quarters, head to a shopping mall and use the lines there. Go anywhere that there are lines painted on the ground. Just practice.

medic258

Forum Crew Member
I agree with all of the practice. Lines in the garage are great as well. If nothing else works, back up until it sounds expensive.

BossyCow

Forum Deputy Chief
Mirrors?????

Yeah, they are those shiny things on the sides of the rig. You know, the things that get stuck in the doorway!

Jon

Administrator
Community Leader
Around here, all the ED's are pull-throughs. We most often back into the bay at the station.