Assignment help?

Jodi T

Forum Ride Along
I am a primary care paramedic student here in Canada and currently a nurse. I have an assignment due next week, and want some input from anyone with experience please!
You are at a call where a female pregnant patient has been in a serious MVA accident. She has injuries incompatible with life. Your partner performs an on scene C-Section to deliver a health baby boy. Later you find out that this EMT has be removed from duty and is facing charges for breaching scope of practice and negligence. Do you agree or disagree and why in the litigation of this EMT?
Any feedback or input would be appreciated!
Jodi

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
If a C-section is not in his scope then he acted outside of his scope. That’s pretty cut and dry.

OP
OP
J

Jodi T

Forum Ride Along
I understand that for sure. I have 200 words I need to come up with to justify why I feel this is wrong. My ideas are beside the fact that he was out scope, he took a risk not knowing if the baby was even alive or going to survive, also perhaps didn't even know if baby was to full term. He risked being a hero over his licence...any other thoughts?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
He was probably not trained on how to perform a C-section.

OP
OP
J

Jodi T

Forum Ride Along
No for sure not. And not in the scope. So morally do you feel he was in the right or do you just look at it cut and dry as it was wrong and he knew better?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Personally I believe when you start to involve morals mistakes are made. You may have good intentions but it is still a mistake. The majority of systems out there do not let morals dictate anything. For me it is black and white. I want to help people but I also need to make a living and avoid lawsuits.

Since I do not have a license to practice medicine I must remain in the scope that my medical director allows.

E tank

Caution: Paralyzing Agent