Aspirin contraindications??

VirginiaEMT

Forum Lieutenant
I am posting this in the ALS section even though I am an EMT-B because I realize that most B's don't have aspirin as part of their protocols.

As an EMT-B, I am authorized without medical direction to administer 324 mg of aspirin to someone who has cardiac related symptoms as well as administering the patients prescribed nitro, up to 3 every 3-5 minutes with out medical direction.

I realize that some of the contraindications of aspirin usage include NSAID usage, aspirin allergy, and blood thinners.

I remember reading somewhere that asthma is also a contraindication but I am finding it difficult to find any information on the subject. Could someone please enlighten me on the the subject as well as other contrindications that I should be aware of?

Last edited by a moderator:

TacoMEDIC

Forum Crew Member
Aspirin is not absolutely contraindicated for pts with Asthma. It is just a consideration. Bronchiospasm could be induced or worsened by NSAIDs in some Asthmatics.

Another Contraindication is Peptic Ulcers.

LucidResq

Forum Deputy Chief
I am posting this in the ALS section even though I am an EMT-B because I realize that most B's don't have aspirin as part of their protocols.

Really? I thought this was a relatively common drug for EMT-Bs... we have it out here in CO...

I remember reading somewhere that asthma is also a contraindication but I am finding it difficult to find any information on the subject. Could someone please enlighten me on the the subject as well as other contrindications that I should be aware of?
It is my understanding that some individuals with asthma are sensitive to aspirin, but I don't believe a hx of asthma is an absolute contraindication... especially when your pt has no such history.

Aspirin is probably not a good idea when your pt has symptoms of stroke, despite what Linuss' genius partner might think XD

TransportJockey

Forum Chief