Asheville Area EMS

ArmoredMedic

Forum Ride Along
Hey, ya'll.

So, I'm an EMS professional with 4 1/2 years EMS with a Private agency that runs both transfers and 911 calls.

I just got my Nationally Registered Paramedic License and looking to move to the Asheville /Buncombe county area within minimally the next year. I'm just looking to see what the market is like for EMS pay and what job opportunities there are. Preferably, I'd like to be in a 911 system and don't mind a little bit of a commute to get to work.

Not entirely sure where exactly we'd move to, but the aforementioned areas is where we'd like to stick close to.

I appreciate any whom answer.

Carlos Danger

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I can't tell you too much about Buncombe EMS, but I can tell you that Asheville has become very crowded and very expensive in the last handful of years. Many people struggle to afford housing, and even people who make really good money often choose to live a ways away and commute to work. Traffic in certain parts of the Asheville area has gotten really bad, too.

Not trying to be negative, just saying you'll want to really do your homework as far as housing costs and commute times before you move here.

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show
This should get you off to a decent start:

As for salaries, $16.69 - $17.36

OP
OP
A

ArmoredMedic

Forum Ride Along
I appreciate both of ya'll answering. Yeah, I'm seeing that housing is kind of expensive in Asheveille proper. And I'm hearing taxes are different than what I'm probably used to? Medics here get paid 20, but that's Louisiana taxed, too. I wouldn't mind like a 30 minute commute or so from home to work.

DrParasite

The fire extinguisher is not just for show