Arkansas Ambulance Crash Kills Two EMTs

Emtplatt

Forum Ride Along
Two Arkansas emergency medical technicians (EMT) are dead after their ambulance crashed in Dallas County. It happened Wednesday night around seven as the men were on their way to a medical call in Carthage.

State police say 46-year-old Kent Goodman and 31-year-old Tim Clowers ran off Highway 273, lost control and flipped their ambulance several times.

Neither was wearing their seatbelt and both were ejected. Thursday, their fellow EMTs were trying to cope with the loss while still working to save the lives of others.

http://www.kthv.com/news/news.aspx?storyid=23971

Last edited by a moderator:

JJR512

Forum Deputy Chief
That's really rough. I'm just getting into this field, and the younger guy was just a year older than me. It really makes one think.

oneday06

Forum Ride Along
It's terrible. I'm a student, and they announced it in our class last night. They are asking for thoughts and prayers for the families of both men.

CaptainPanic

Former EMT...
Saw that last night on the news - the same company said Id have a job if I could relocate - unfortunately I didnt have the funds to relocate so I had to turn them down.

Its sad knowing people who work for that company - Ive sent my thoughts and prayers out to them.

CP

Ecnalubma

Forum Probie
I hadn't worked with Kent and Tim, but I knew them from a few conferances and such we've had down here. Good guys. EASI's policy is always to wear seatbelts. They struck me as the kind that would follow that policy. Sad to see something like this.

Stevo

Forum Asst. Chief
Experts say ambulance accidents are the number one killers of EMS workers.

i'm wearing a seatbelt from now on...

~S~

TTLWHKR

Forum Deputy Chief
I can't wear one in the back, I wouldn't be able to reach the patient or any equipment.

Stevo

Forum Asst. Chief
i asked about that wacker

seems we are to wear them in the back , unless we are treating the patient