Areas where AMR failed

Hello everyone. I'd like to get some insight from you guys that have been in areas or know of areas where AMR tried and failed to operate successfully.

I'm curious regarding the operational aspects of private EMS and I'd like to get your opinions on why they didn't succeed in said areas. With the possibility of the company being sold, I feel that they might pull out of more areas in the future that don't fit into their "strategic plan".

I know they failed in Philadelphia, Chicago, Houston, and Orange County California but have never been able to fully understand why.

VentMonkey

Family Guy
When I first got hired on at AMR in 2002 they had nearly the entire LA County EOA. All unincorporated calls were theirs with the exception of a few cities covered by Westmed (McCormick), Emergency, and Schaefer.

In the 5 years that I was a tech there what I saw was a corporate giant with a huge footprint. Granted I had little to no understanding of management, let alone EMS management of a huge EOA contract as such.

They also had the Kaiser contract. This meant that on top of being obligated to meet their contractual agreements with the FD's, they had obligations to Kaiser as well; it ultimately proved to be impossible to juggle, just ask any current LA County EMT how that contract works now.

The general taste left in many people's mouth upon the demise of the divisions lost was they were basically "too big for their britches". It appeared they just got greedy, they literally couldn't juggle both a large 911 contract, and large Kaiser contract.