Another Question/critique

campsitewilly

Forum Ride Along
The other day while working, i came across a downed individual, the subject was lying on their side very blue in the face taking gaping snoring respiration, maybe 1-2 times a min, and completely unresponsive, i could not detect a carotid pulse and began cpr and called for ems response, when the ambulance arrived i had a weak but detectable carotid pulse. this turned out to be an opiate overdose and 8mg of narcan got the individual responsive and transported. my question is, what i was seeing in the breathing was that agonal respiration accompanied by a sudden cardiac arrest?

im new to the ems game and have been replaying this in my head making sure i recognized the right signs and performed the correct action, so any critique or support will be well received. thank you

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
You saw the depressed respirations of an opiate overdose.

Good for you for doing something.

Here's the questions:

Was he really only breathing once or twice per minute?

Was there really no pulse?

Did EMS really give him 8mg (8!!) of narcan?

OP
OP
C

campsitewilly

Forum Ride Along
i couldnt find one when i approached and felt, i could have missed when feeling around but i went forward assuming no pulse

and yes 4 doses of 2mg, they used all they had

E tank

Caution: Paralyzing Agent
Not unlikely that in that situation the HR could have been in the uber low range, ie, 20, so while there may have been a pulse, unless the checker was anticipating it, it wouldn't be that easy to pickup.

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic