Ambulance driving tips

hippopotassium

Forum Ride Along
Hey guys.

I'm a pretty new EMT (4/01), and I got hired at an ambulance company. I finished the mandatory 40 hours of ride time, and the evaluation came back thus: my driving sucks. I get two more shifts to improve it, or I'm outta there.

I really, really, really don't want to lose my job! :sad:

I was wondering if anybody here had any tips on driving. I think my biggest fears are my blind spots, because I can't turn around to see if anyone's in them because I can't see anything, and I'm afraid to hit someone. I also can't always see where I am on the road, and my supervisor perennially warn me about the curb. I've tried adjusting the mirrors but I can't seem to get better at it.

Another thing I'm bad at is lifting. I'm a girl with not a whole lot of upper body strength, and I'm having a really hard time lifting some of our heavier (morbidly obese) patients, even at the foot end of the stretcher. Do you guys know any techniques I could use to get stronger and/or to make lifting easier?

Thanks. I really appreciate it. :wub:

MSDeltaFlt

RRT/NRP
As far as driving tips go: You must know every inch of your vehicle. You must know it by "feeling" it. An ambulance is a lot bigger than a car. It's also a lot bulkier taking a lot longer to stop. It's an ambulance, not a Nissan.

Make bigger turns. Set those side mirrors to where you are comfortable. Don't stop until you do. Set the driver's seat to where you can see the side mirrors as well. Plan every move WELL in advance... any where from 100 yards to 1/2 mile. Both braking and accelerating. Like I said, it's an ambulance, not a Nissan.

Never park to where you have to back out. Back in, yes. Back out, no. Practice backing up. Practice until you're blue in the face, then practice some more.