Am I hireable?? (EMT)

TLHartmann

Forum Ride Along
I passed the NREMT exam on October 2, 2017 and I've been tossing around the idea of getting a job on an ambulance company. BUT...
I'm 48½ years old and I've convinced myself that no one will hire me because they don't want to hire someone and spend the time and money to train someone who's much closer to retirement.
So, am I hireable? Any thoughts?
Oh, I am a disabled veteran. I was a Combat Medic & an X-ray Tech. I also got my NREMT back then, but it lapsed (didn't know anything about CE credits)

OP
OP
TLHartmann

TLHartmann

Forum Ride Along
I passed the NREMT exam on October 2, 2017 and I've been tossing around the idea of getting a job on an ambulance company. BUT...
I'm 48½ years old and I've convinced myself that no one will hire me because they don't want to hire someone and spend the time and money to train someone who's much closer to retirement.
So, am I hireable? Any thoughts?
Oh, I am a disabled veteran. I was a Combat Medic & an X-ray Tech. I also got my NREMT back then, but it lapsed (didn't know anything about CE credits)

VentMonkey

Family Guy
Yes you’re eligible for employment, pending any physical disabilities that may prevent you from the rigors of ambulance work.

Also, none of us can un-convince you that you’re not, you need to. No reputable agency would take ageism lightly, good luck.

OP
OP
TLHartmann

TLHartmann

Forum Ride Along
Yes you’re eligible for employment, pending any physical disabilities that may prevent you from the rigors of ambulance work.

Also, none of us can un-convince you that you’re not, you need to. No reputable agency would take ageism lightly, good luck.

@VentMonkey Thank you. I know that no one would ever say, "We're sorry to inform you that we decided to hire another candidate because you're simply too old. But, we wish you luck in your job search."

OP
OP
TLHartmann

TLHartmann

Forum Ride Along