ALS Chase Car Model EMS Systems in US?

CityP

Forum Ride Along
I am a current veteran provider in a major urban 911 system. Presently we are looking to "revamp" our current 911 delivery system. HISTORY: Our current system consists of a 1 tier system with all ALS all the time. Currently we have 24 ALS transport units handling approximately 158,000 calls for services annually. This system appears to be a broken system in means of financial and operational functionality. Are there any jurisdictions that operate a all BLS fleet with ALS chase cars? This is a current model we are looking at and need any and all information related to this topic.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
158000 calls annually? Wow, this is big news for a system that size to revamp their EMS system so drastically. I know other large urban areas that are using similar systems to what you describe are Seattle, Boston, and NYC. Boston in particular seems to run very few ALS units for how many calls they run. All of the cities I mentioned though have ALS ambulances as the tiered system and don't operate chase cars. LA County has chase squads with paramedics, but I think they respond on every medical call and decide to ride in with the BLS ambulance or not (don't quote me on that). My system uses ALS chase cars with BLS ambulances from different departments, but the environment here really isn't anywhere close to the urban setting you're describing.

Masenko

Forum Probie
I know Wake EMS uses chases cars but I'm not sure as to what the rest of the fleet is. I do think they also run ALS.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
I know Wake EMS uses chases cars but I'm not sure as to what the rest of the fleet is. I do think they also run ALS.