Advice for a newbie?

StarOfLife

Forum Crew Member
I'm new, but I have read most of the threads of interest to me on here. It is a great site.

So, I am a relatively new EMT-B and have been volunteering for my local rescue squad (very slow) while working at a ski area in base first aid (to get some experience with patients). I am interested ultimately in working for an ambulance service. We have two private services in our valley. The municipal fire/rescue/ems services are not an option because I would have to quit my rescue.

I am riding with the service for which I am greatly interested in working this Wednesday. Any advice? Our rescue does not transport (about once a year) so it is a brave new world!! I am so excited and am looking forward to the learning experience.

Good to "meet" you all. Thanks for anything you care to offer.:)

OP
OP
S

StarOfLife

Forum Crew Member
Woopsie.

My grammar left something to be desired toward the end of my post. Edit: I am riding this Wednesday for the service in which I am interested. That should be clearer.

P.S. Can you edit posts? I didn't see where I could when I re-read it and saw my error.

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
You can edit your posts, but you have a 15 minute time limit to do so. To edit the post, look in the lower right corner of the post next to where it says "Quote". To the left of that should be a button labeled "Edit" if it is within the time limit.

reaper

Working Bum
Star,

You need to decide if you want to work EMS as a career or a hobby? If you are looking at a career, then don't worry that you can't volunteer for rescue if you work full time.

If you are just in it for a hobby, then stay with the rescue squad and leave the full time job for someone that wants the career.

Volunteering is fine, but you don't want to work for free if you are looking at a career. You have to make that decision.

OP
OP
S

StarOfLife

Forum Crew Member
Star,