Actual qualified medics.

TachticalFire89

Forum Probie
This may sound like a rant that most of you have heard before but since i am new to this line of work i have to get this off my chest...i am a certified firemam and Emt Basic since there are no fire stations hiring in my area i decided to get more patient contacts and get a job as an Emt Basic. I now work for a private ems company pretty much hauling around the elserly to diaylisis or dentist appointments. Dont get me wrong i am very grateful to even be doing this at the end of the day its still expirence BUT what has had me pissed off for a few days now is when i was talking to another "Driver" as they call us that person is not even certifeid as an emt or anything no training what so ever so your telling me that i bust my *** getting nationally and state certified when theres ppl out here who can get in the same line of work that i bust my *** to get into without any training!! Thats absured and i think this is a problem with ****ty patient care these days smh how do some of you new EMT's feel about this!?

StCEMT

Forum Deputy Chief
To be fair, you don't really need two EMT's to do dialysis and dentist transfers. They aren't going to touch a 911 truck though, so they won't really be doing the same line of work when when all things settle.

TransportJockey

Forum Chief
And also, EMT-Basic is not a hard certification or class to pass and obtain. But there are places that just hire drivers out there. It happens, and they shouldn't be doing patient care, so saying that they are the reason renal roundup crews provide ****ty care is not accurate.

OP
OP
TachticalFire89

TachticalFire89

Forum Probie