ACLS or AMLS

ViolynEMT

Forum Chiefess
I went back to my former school to talk to my former instructor about some of the extra classes that are offered. First of all, I am an EMT. My instructor taught us some extra material that wasn't in the book. Material that is taught in the medic classes. I also did really well in the class. (Not trying to brag. I just want to get advice with all the info out there) He feels that I would do well taking either the ACLS class or the AMLS class. I would really like the AMLS myself, but I'm not sure if I should try to tackle either one as an EMT. Suggestions?

teedubbyaw

Forum Deputy Chief
I guess I don't see much of a point in you taking ACLS as a basic. It's an algorithmically focused class on arrhythmia treatment and main focus on cardiac arrest mega codes.

Do know rhythms? What is your goal in having ACLS if you're unable to do any of the treatment plans?

OP
OP
ViolynEMT

ViolynEMT

Forum Chiefess
I've been getting tutored on my own in the interpretation of ECG's. I don't really have a specific goal other than wanting to learn as much as possible. Medic school is going to be really difficult for me, if not impossible, in the foreseeable future. I'm trying to at least learn what I can to be the best EMT I possibly can and be a damned good partner for the medics I'll be working with. AMLS seems more interesting to me. Just not sure if I'd be biting off more than I can chew.

teedubbyaw

Forum Deputy Chief
You'd probably benefit more from AMLS. ACLS is really nothing more than a course to teach people standardized algorithms with information they should already know. There's not much you'll walk away with.

cprted

Forum Captain
I don't know what AMLS is, but I never think more training and knowledge is a bad thing. If you're going to do an ACLS course, make sure you know your rhythms and learn the ACLS drugs. Beyond that the course is really just following the algorithms.

Ewok Jerky

PA-C