About NY EMS

Jeff2mars

Forum Probie
Hello, I'm a french EMT and I'm looking for informations about EMS of NY.

I know there are FDNY, hospitals and volunteers EMS, so I would know how many ambulances are running by day in New York (Manhattan, Queens,...)

If someone from NY or elsewhere can help me!!
thanks

alphatrauma

Forum Captain
Just curious... are you looking to work in NY, or is your inquiry for research/study?

OP
OP
J

Jeff2mars

Forum Probie
no it's just to compare with my city, and because I like NY and EMS... I could ask you for L.A. too

MrBrown

Forum Deputy Chief
Los Angeles (in particular) is one of the worst systems in the world; City and County EMS are both run by thier respective Fire Departments. Up until the late 1990s the City had civillian Paramedics employed by the Fire Department while the County has always used dual-trained Firefighter/Paramedics since 1970. At some point in the late 90s the LA City FD decided that single-role Paramedics cost too much money so *slap, somebody bright spark over there had the flash idea of making Firefighters into Paramedics.

Now I do speak slightly higher of Los Angeles than some other systems, not every Firefighter is a Paramedic although I know it used to be true that there was no promotion on the EMS side of the operation so most people would leave and go back to the Fire chain to get promoted; I'm not sure if the same still holds true today but it would not suprise me.

While the City FD has a few transport ambulances for the most part the Firefighter/Paramedics either ride a fire truck or a rescue squad and don't actually have to worry about transporting patients because that is taken care of by the private ambulance companies.