Whatcha pocket?

emsbambi

Forum Ride Along
Hi I'm a fairly new EMT and was wondering what you all carry in your pocket/on your belt while on shift? What do you feel is unnecessary to carry? Thank you!

mycrofft

Still crazy but elsewhere
Hi. There are literal cascades of threads and replies on this.
I used to carry my car keys, wallet, comb (haha bald now), spare O2 gaskets, money, swiss army knife. On my belt, 7.5 inch serrated shears.

Later add gloves (ten gloves rolled tightly in pairs) , facility keys with beefy retractor on belt; remove knife (no knives in jail).

Rin

Forum Captain
Gloves, pen, penlight, steth (it's a big pocket), O2 key, small flashlight, keys, wallet, chapstick, phone

Nothing on my belt. Not really into the whole Batman look lol

Household6

Forum Asst. Chief
Premium Member
Raptor because I'm awesome... Roll of tape on a little carabiner.. Extra gloves, a Sharpie, my lucky Fisher Space pen..

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Pocket: Cellphone, car keys, Chapstick, knife, and my wallet

Belt: pager, PPE pouch required by company, and a handheld radio that is also required but company.

If I need anything else it is either on the gurney or in my response bags.

Last edited by a moderator:

Jim37F

Forum Deputy Chief
Pants: Wallet, keys, pocket knife, occasionally some spare change.

Belt: SOG Power Lock multitool

Uniform shirt pockets: cellphone, pen, spare pen, spare blue ink pen, pen light, and a microfiber cleaning cloth.

On calls company policy is to wear a waist pack with PPE (5 pairs of gloves, N95 mask, surgical mask, gown, and protective goggles per SOP, so far I've only had to use the goggles lol). Everything else is either on the gurney or in the ambulance.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Pants: Wallet, keys, pocket knife, occasionally some spare change.

Belt: SOG Power Lock multitool

Uniform shirt pockets: cellphone, pen, spare pen, spare blue ink pen, pen light, and a microfiber cleaning cloth.