What defines a 'wacker' vs a 'normal' EMT?

stethoscope

Forum Probie
I've been hearing the term wacker used periodically in EMS. I did my research and found out that the definition is somewhat gray and subjective. What defines a wacker once and for all? What sets apart someone who is a wacker, and someone who likes what they do?

I have 2 smaller star of life stickers on my rear quarter windows (SUV, each on opposite sides, symmetric to the other) I quite like them, but I never thought about being a "wacker". It seems pretty ridiculous to me.

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
The term is different from person to person. Your not going to get one solid answer.

In a smaller town with a volunteer company it may be normal to wear "I'm an EMT bada**" shirt around or a department shirt. However in a bigger town that is viewed as "hey, that guy is a whacker."

redundantbassist

Nefarious Dude
Normal EMT- Takes pride in their job and cares about his patients, carries the equipment necessary to perform his job, and does not feel the need to advertise their profession to people around him

Whacker- Is more concerned with looking like a badass than giving the best care to his patient, carries a lot of equipment that has no practical function, and will display to all the "civillians" that they work in EMS with hats, stickers, t-shirts, jackets etc.

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Someone that goes out of their way to tell everyone that they are involved in EMS is how I look at it. That can mean, shirts, stickers, and generally never shutting up about it.

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I've been hearing the term wacker used periodically in EMS. I did my research and found out that the definition is somewhat gray and subjective. What defines a wacker once and for all? What sets apart someone who is a wacker, and someone who likes what they do?