Value of I-training

medicdan

Forum Deputy Chief
Premium Member
I have been lurking around here for a while and really value the opinion of the members of this community.
Here is my story: I have just graduated from High School, and have been accepted to a University, but am deferring my admission for a year. I am in the process of mapping out the second half of my year now. In about a month, I am going to go to Israel and volunteer (intern) as a First Responder on the national Ambulance corps (MDA) (It seems to me that I am unable to transfer my basic certification right now).
This summer I have been working with a fairly rural community EMS/Fire Department that has an Intermediate Ambulance but trouble getting 24/7 I coverage. They have been pushing their members to start I training, and although I am with them for a short period of time, they wouldn't mind it if I got the training and came back.

I am a very new EMT (I got my cert over the summer), and hope to gain some experience in Israel. I plan on joining the on-campus EMS at my university, and they have a basic ambulance.

Essentially I am going to have roughly 4-6 months free during this year and wonder if it is worth perusing Intermediate training.
Is it worth the training if I have little experience (not even a years worth)?
Will I use the skills if only in a basic environment (no IVs or tubes, just advanced assessment)?
Is it worth my time if I dont plan on perusing Paramedic training for at least five years?
Is there really a use for Intermediates in the field?
And is the time required for training and field internships worth it?

What do you think? What is the value of an Intermediate?

Thanks a lot, I look forward to some interesting opinions.

ResTech

Forum Asst. Chief