Shortness of breath question

Dillon Baker

Forum Ride Along
We were called to a residence for shortness of breath. We did our assessment and began transporting, vitals normal o2 sat was 97% so I wasn't concerned. I put pt on o2 via nasal cannula @5 lpm and took her to the hospital. Upon arrival to the er the nurse came in and I gave my report, then she looked at me weird and immediately took the pt off our o2, I didn't ask why I just got my signature and left. I'm still somewhat new to the field and I'm just wondering if I made a bad decision with the oxygen, I thought it was bls protocol to treat shortness of breath with o2, am I wrong?

Ewok Jerky

PA-C
Most providers don't flinch at a pulse ox of 97. BLS with a complaint of shortness of breath, sure throuh some O2 on if your protocols say so, but 5L is a little much. 1L would be fine.

As a new EMT, heck even as an old EMT, don't be afraid to ask questions. Maybe the nurse was just getting a room air sat, but a simple "I'm new at this, do you thithinxygen was indicated?" will do.

gnosis

Forum Crew Member
O2 sat of 97 is great. If there's no symptoms of SOB, there's no real reason to give O2. To use the old phrase, treat the patient not the machine/call/complaint. Also, 5L through a cannula is a lot. It feels like someone blowing up your nose with a straw. It's a good idea to try it on sometimes to get an idea of how it feels. I find anything over 3lpm through a cannula is pretty uncomfortable. But I may just have a sissy nose...

Tigger

Dodges Pucks
Community Leader
Was the patient actually showing signs of respiratory compromise?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
As some other people already stated why give the patient supplemental O2 if they have normal vital signs and a SpO2 of 97%?

EpiEMS

Forum Deputy Chief