Recruiting Civilian Paramedics: How to?

Sophie

Forum Probie
Hi! I am new to this website and only found it due to searching for EMS information on Google. I am stumped. I am a civilian paramedic in the midwest currently working for a fire dept. Recently, we had a hiring process for a civilian paramedic and only received 10 applications. Not only that, only 2 applicants showed up on the day of testing.

What type of recruitment have your depts used that you found were favorable and resulted in a good turn out of paramedics? Also, are any of you civilian paramedics in a fire dept.?

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I would suggest providing your current employees benefits for recruiting qualified individuals. Maybe $100 cash after the employee is there for the first 30 days, and then something else after they've been there for x long? I know that my service found that to work well, especially as we struggle to find qualified applicants.

Ridryder911

EMS Guru
If it the typical non uniform F.D. position that many F.D.'s are attempting to employ. The reason you might only had 2 applicants is because medics are tired of getting tired of being treated like second class citizens. If you want more applicants, then make them uniform employees like the rest of the F.D. with all the benefits and pay.

I am all for boycotting F.D.'s that want EMS only to place them in a subcategory, like so many F.D.'s are attempting them to do.

Hmm.. let's see Medics require education, re-cert. etc.. and they get the shaft... and being a firefighter does not.. No thanks!

R/r 911

firecoins

IFT Puppet
I would suggest providing your current employees benefits for recruiting qualified individuals. Maybe $100 cash after the employee is there for the first 30 days, and then something else after they've been there for x long? I know that my service found that to work well, especially as we struggle to find qualified applicants.