Recovery Position

CPRinProgress

Forum Lieutenant
I work as a lifeguard but I am also an EMT. We were training where I work as a lifeguard and my supervisor asked me a question out of a lifeguarding book. Here is the question.

You are working as a lifeguard and you walk into a maintenance room and find a maintenance worker laying supine on the ground unresponsive but breathing. He is laying at the base of a ladder. You must leave to get help. What should you do?

The two answers I was between were

Leave him how he is and get help

Place him in recovery position and then leave to get help.

I picked to leave him how he was but my supervisor said the right answer was to place him in recovery to keep his airway open. I thought that since he was laying at the bottom of the ladder, he may have a spinal injury and since he was breathing on his own, I thought it would be best to leave him and then come back and administer care. Am I right in my thinking or am I wrong?

UnkiEMT

Forum Truck Monkey
Premium Member
I'd side with you, the fact that he's at the base of the ladder at least raises the possibility of a trauma MOI, and thus I wouldn't go moving him about.

I was going to say that it's a matter of scope and training, that lifeguards don't deal with spinal precautions and thus wouldn't be tested on it, but back when I did my lifeguard, we totally covered what to do if someone dives headlong into the bottom, did you?

Of course, the real answer is grab your cell phone and call 911, get a truck rolling for a man down, put the operator on speakerphone and do a rapid assessment to see if you can give them a bit better information.

OP
OP
C

CPRinProgress

Forum Lieutenant