Recommendations for continuing my Ed with a move to FL coming..

What A Ride

Forum Ride Along
I am currently an EMT-B in NH. I was planning on taking the EMT-I class over this next winter. However, we are moving to the Jacksonville area in 15 months. I read that Florida does not recognize EMT-I....

So my question is.... Would I be better off taking classes at the college here and transferring them to Jacksonville Community College when I move? Then I will just work towards the Paramedic level and finish in Florida. What do you think????

AJ Hidell

Forum Deputy Chief
You are best off continuing your education at the earliest possible time, regardless of where you happen to be. Start getting A&P, microbiology, psychology, sociology and algebra out of the way ASAP. Those courses aren't just hoops to jump through in order to get into paramedic school. They will make you a much better EMT, so they are immediately relevant. And don't let any time pass between completing them and getting into the degree completion program.

Last edited by a moderator:

vquintessence

Forum Captain
I am currently an EMT-B in NH. I was planning on taking the EMT-I class over this next winter. However, we are moving to the Jacksonville area in 15 months. I read that Florida does not recognize EMT-I....

So my question is.... Would I be better off taking classes at the college here and transferring them to Jacksonville Community College when I move? Then I will just work towards the Paramedic level and finish in Florida. What do you think????

Make sure all the courses you take can transfer to JCC. It's hard enough transferring courses between schools in New England.

Sasha

Forum Chief

Why don't you just skip EMT-I since Florida doesn't recognize it, and go straight to Paramedic?

Then all you gotta do is come take the test!

VentMedic

Forum Chief