Public Access Defibrillators

LifeLine

Forum Probie
Hello, I am just joined. I had some questions and thought I would ask the experts! :) I was a volunteer firefighter in southern MN, but now currently work as a consultant to help businesses and organizations set up public access defibrillators (PADs). I want to make PADs more community friendly and had some questions.

As many of you have read, public access defibrillators can help provide necessary treatment prior to EMS arrival. In the field do you see these working or do Good Samaritans just not know how to use them? Know where they are?

Does your department actively help in training of these defibrillators and do you know where every AED is in your community?

We see a lot of what is going on from inside the business or organization and I want to try to combine what we are doing to help assist local EMS thus increasing the chance of survival for the patient.

Airwaygoddess

Forum Deputy Chief
Hi Jason! Welcome to the tribe, AHA is a pretty good resource for PAD info and ways to set up. Hope this helps! :)

OP
OP
LifeLine

LifeLine

Forum Probie
Hi Jason! Welcome to the tribe, AHA is a pretty good resource for PAD info and ways to set up. Hope this helps! :)

Thanks! AHA is a great resource for setting up PAD, but my goal is to bridge the gap that I currently see with a business that has an AED and the rescuers that respond to the call.

We provide AEDs, certified AHA training and medical oversight to ensure quality control. Our clients are taken care of very well and have more training and medical oversight than many states require. The problem is, many states like Minnesota do not require the business or organization to contact their local EMS to report the placement of an AED nor do they require the owners of an AED to receive training.