Pre-hospital Anaphylaxis Treatment

LIFEGUARDAVIDAS

Forum Crew Member
Hi,

I am a professional lifeguard, a rescue diver, PHTLS advanced provider and hopefuly soon an EMT.

I work most of the time outdoors, in the U.S. at a summer camp, and in Argentina at different locations. Though they're not always remote locations, EMS is not always immediatly available.

I would like to know which is the best Pre-hospital Emeregency Treatment for an Anaphylactic Shock.

I've seen in the U.S. the most widely used one is the Epynephrine kit (like Eppy-pen). In Argentina, since EMS is not as advanced, there are no real Paramedic or EMTs. Ambulances are staffed by a driver, an assistant and (and sometimes) a doctor. Many doctors here recommend Corticoids kit as the treatment method for Anaphylactic Shock.

I will appreciate any comment regarding this issue, just to know what your agencies are using and why.

Thank you in advance for your interest in this message,

Guri

Mercy4Angels

Forum Lieutenant
we can only use epinephrine aka (epi pen and epi Jr.) for anaphalaxis if the epi is already prescribed to the patient. we do not carry them on the rigs in new jersey. I hear something is in the works but not yet. we have to call medics if no epi pen is available. the epi pen delivers 0.3mg of epinephrine and the Jr. version .015mg.

BEorP

Forum Captain
we can only use epinephrine aka (epi pen and epi Jr.) for anaphalaxis if the epi is already prescribed to the patient. we do not carry them on the rigs in new jersey. I hear something is in the works but not yet. we have to call medics if no epi pen is available. the epi pen delivers 0.3mg of epinephrine and the Jr. version .015mg.
I think its just a typo, but Epipen Jr. is 0.15 mg of epi 1:1000

As for the anaphylaxis... epi and maybe some benadryl could help

Ridryder911

EMS Guru