Personal vehicle lighting

Medic29

Forum Crew Member
Anyone have a list of states that allow for emergency lighting on your personal vehicle and their laws/regulations? For those who work paid or volunteer and will use their vehicle to get to scene or you witness or are at scene of an accident and no cop/EMS is on site?

I'm a Colorado resident and I've searched (maybe not hard enough lol) to find them

Last edited by a moderator:

ffemt8978

Forum Vice-Principal
Community Leader
POV lighting is a contentious subject that is pretty much frowned upon by the members here. I'd suggest you take a gander over at elightbars.org.

Some thoughts I posted on another forum:
Why
When it comes to installing lights on your vehicle, the first question you must ask yourself is this: WHAT DO I NEED THE LIGHTS FOR?

I know all of the rote answers, but I challenge each and every person that is thinking about installing lights to take several moments and think long and hard about this. Ultimately, it will be your decision but there are several factors you must consider and I will try to address some of these.

Laws
Next, you need to check out your state's laws concerning vehicle lights. All states limit what color you may use (amber is generally a safe color choice) and some states even restrict what lights may be placed on the vehicle. Some states also limit when the lights may be used, and some even have further restrictions concerning visibility and coverage arcs. For example, in my state of Washington, ALL vehicle lights (including amber) MUST be approved by the state patrol (ref http://apps.leg.wa.gov/RCW/default.aspx?cite=46.37.320)

Also, if you plan to cross state lines, make sure you are aware of the other states laws concerning vehicle lights too. Just because your legal in your state doesn't mean that you will be legal in the next one.

Liability