New massachusett certified paramedic going for NREMT cert.

Jeepmedic67

Forum Ride Along
Do newly state certified paramedics in massachusetts have to take BOTH the nremt-p cognitive AND psychomotor exams if the want to have there nremt cert? I am a newly certified emt-p in massachusetts working as a medic about 5 mo now. I decided to go for my NREMT cert for the hell of it because a few of my fellow medic coworkers have it and told me that because ive only had my state cert less then a year that i only have to take the cognitive exam and not the psychomotor exam. I decided to pay the $110 to get to wear the shiny blue and gold nremt patch. I took the exam a few days ago 3/13. I found out online that i passed! So i figured id just have to wait for my card in the mail. Looking further on the candidate section online it says "currently not registered"! I looked all over the registry site, internet, i even called the registry and the rep had no idea what i was talking about! Any MA nremt-p know the answer? I dont want to drive 2 hrs up north and pay $250 to take another test for a cert i don't need! I can't see dishing out $350 just to wear a nremt patch! Did i forget to submit some kind of verification letter or something? I'm already half into this.

SliceOfLife

Forum Crew Member
I don't have an accurate answer for your question but I always thought you still had to do both. This is what I have gathered from their website too.

bstone

Forum Deputy Chief
Yet another reason why MA needs to sign up with the NREMT system.

OP
OP
J

Jeepmedic67

Forum Ride Along
Well now after asking my program coordinator from where i went to school. he is telling me once i get the info to take the practical all i have to do is sign up online and he can go on and check me off? Im still confused! And once again the people i talked to at the registry still dont know what im talking about.

Epi52

Forum Probie