New Invention ideas to make our jobs easier

Shelbyjb

Forum Ride Along
I am an EMT in training and my instructor led me to this site to collect ideas from any EMTs. My question to all of you is:

If you had all the money you needed and you wanted to create anything to make your job as an EMT easier, what would it be? Please if you can describe in detail as much as possible, it would be much appreciated. Thanks!

NomadicMedic

I know a guy who knows a guy.
Microchip everyone and then provide each EMS unit with a chip scanner that provides access to a database with all patient info, history, meds and billing info instantly available for providers and able to be instantly transferred to any ePCR platform.

Yeah. That's what I want. Let me know when it's available.

WolfmanHarris

Forum Asst. Chief
The technology exists already (but not the wherewithal) for standardized, cloud synced medical records. One where the database is used by all providers including pharmacies, family health teams, hospitals and Paramedics to make available and complete, accurate and searchable Pt. record. This would increase the quality of information instantly available as well as decrease the risk of medical errors due to missing information in the chart, allergies not noted, etc. Imagine instant flags for drug interactions even when the patient used multiple pharmacies or an alert for low INR in a elderly hip Fx flagged from their most recent blood work.

MMiz

I put the M in EMTLife
Community Leader
I wish we had a staff of Advance Practice Paramedics, social workers, and a dedicated medical director to provide more comprehensive care.

Access to high quality continuing education was lacking. Surely we can do better than telling war stories and watching PowerPoints.

It would have been great to have access to an advanced simulation lab to practice challenging skills in a low stakes environment.