IFT BLS EMT

AfxEMT

Forum Probie
Hello everyone. I'm an emt-b & I work for a private ambulance, we primarily do IFT. This is my first ems job & I've been doing it for three months now. However I feel like doing BLS IFT gets no respect from other health care professionals, like one time we were about to take a pt to a snf so I was asking the nurse for a report & allergies & such & she told me "I don't understand why you need all of this, you're just transport."
Is it just me or this is BLS IFT life?? Private taxi. Barely get to do anything besides vitals & continue O2 therapy.

medichopeful

Flight RN/Paramedic
Hello everyone. I'm an emt-b & I work for a private ambulance, we primarily do IFT. This is my first ems job & I've been doing it for three months now. However I feel like doing BLS IFT gets no respect from other health care professionals, like one time we were about to take a pt to a snf so I was asking the nurse for a report & allergies & such & she told me "I don't understand why you need all of this, you're just transport."
Is it just me or this is BLS IFT life?? Private taxi. Barely get to do anything besides vitals & continue O2 therapy.

BLS IFT is, for the most part, just a private taxi. However, it's an EXCELLENT learning experience for you. You'll get practice with patient assessment and customer service. In addition, you'll be able to learn medications, diseases, etc. Show those on both ends of the transfer (as well as the patient) that you're learning these things, and are competent, and hopefully the attitude changes. Keep in mind, though, that there will always be people who are just jerks.

Look at going to a service that provides emergency response or critical care transport after you get some experience. Also look at going to medic school if you're interested in continuing in this field. Good luck!

EMT11KDL

Forum Asst. Chief