How to do a better patient assessment?

beaucait

Forum Crew Member
I am only a student, and working as a student I have seen the EMT's on scene, along with ALS and Paramedics, be the ones to do the patient assessment and somewhat push me to the side. What is a good way that I can do a thorough patient assessment? I enjoy being in the EMS field, will this change once I become a licensed EMT?

MonkeyArrow

Forum Asst. Chief
If you're working with an ALS partner, they will (probably) doing the assessment and you will be helping them (ex. taking vitals). If you work on a BLS ambulance where your partner is also an EMT, then you will probably switch off being the attendant and therefore will get to do patient assessments.

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Are you asking how to do an assessment, or whether or not you'll stop liking EMS?

As to performing a better assessment: Learn the book stuff that everyone claims you don't need. The more you know about physio and patho, the more you know what to ask and what to expect. It'll help you direct your questioning. Once you go through paramedic, you'll get much better at it (hopefully). There's just so little substinance to EMT. Right now it'll just be a checklist to go down.

Making it flow and sound like a conversation will come with assessing more and more patients. You may or may not have that opportunity as a basic, depending on where you work.

OP
OP
beaucait

beaucait

Forum Crew Member
Are you asking how to do an assessment, or whether or not you'll stop liking EMS?

As to performing a better assessment: Learn the book stuff that everyone claims you don't need. The more you know about physio and patho, the more you know what to ask and what to expect. It'll help you direct your questioning. Once you go through paramedic, you'll get much better at it (hopefully). There's just so little substinance to EMT. Right now it'll just be a checklist to go down.