Honoring a DNR

Mercy4Angels

Forum Lieutenant
paramedics can pronounce death but the ME has to declare it and sign the paperwork. emt basics can still only do nothing. my suggestion is if your looking for more responsibility be a medic.

MikeEMT609

Forum Ride Along
I've been an EMT for 22 years in Los Angeles. The EMS agency issued a policy regarding DNR's and the company did the same.

Basically, a DNR patient belongs at the facility of choice whether that's a hospital, extended care facility or residence (the last two refer to discharges from the hospital).

Whenever I transport a patient I always ask the patient's code status and check the transfer paperwork to confirm what the nurse tells me, and if the patient is going home then I'll ask to see the DNR order before we leave the facility.

When you transport these patients you provide comfort measures which can include positioning of the patient, oxygen and suctioning to maintain their airway.

If the patient dies in your care then confirm the death and note the time on your paperwork.

We had this happen to both my partner and myself recently. In the case of my patient, we were transporting to an extended care facility and she died about 10 minutes before arriving at the facility.
On arrival my partner went inside the facility to let them know what happened, then we took the patient inside and left her in a private room.

In the second case we transported from an extended care facility to the emergency room, and shortly after arriving (in the presence of the nursing staff and the ER MD the patient died.

As EMT's all we can do is confirm a DNR order is in place, and if the patient stops breathing then note the time in your paperwork, and if there is no DNR then work up the patient and divert to the closest ER.

Mercy4Angels

Forum Lieutenant