EMT-B Practice Scenarios

Gina Orsi

Forum Crew Member
Hey everyone, I am currently an EMT-B student and we have our midterm written and practical coming up. I could use all the practice I can get, so I was wondering if anyone wanted to throw some scenarios at me. Thus far, we have covered- Documentation, legal issues, communication, lifting and moving, Anatomy, physiology, pathophysiology, airway management, and advanced airway management, Baseline vitals, patient assessment, OB, pediatrics, Shock, stroke, altered mental status, seizures, anaphylactic emergencies, and diabetic emergencies. Thanks in advanced!!!!!

COmedic17

Forum Asst. Chief
You come across a 17 yo Male laying supine in a park with noticeable urticaria and pale skin- along with audible Wheezes.

Go.

OP
OP
G

Gina Orsi

Forum Crew Member
Okay, scene saftey bsi and all that good stuff. I would determine his level of consciousness & asses his ABC's and take care of all of those. Determine if I need ALS assistance or not. I would administer oxygen 15lpm nonrebreather. If he is alert I would obtain the sample and opqrst from the patient, if he were unresponsive I would try to gather as much history as possible from any bystanders or witnesses. If in fact he does have an allergy and carries an epipen I would then ask him for it, ensure that it is his prescription, the adequate dosage, expiration date, and coloration of it. Obtain permission from medical direction to assist in administration of the epipen. I would then determine if the best method is to transport based on our eta or transfer to ALS care.
I believe I hit most of the points haha, Im ready for constructive criticism , dont hold back.

COmedic17

Forum Asst. Chief
Sounds pretty good. I used to assist with teaching EMT classes and help do scenarios. So if it's ok I'll "nit pick" even though your assessment was decently solid. When i was a student I always liked the teachers who were a little bit more strict.