CPR Guidelines

emtontherun

Forum Ride Along
Hi all!
I'm about to take my registration EMT exam and I'm studying the CPR portion. I'm just wondering when the appropriate time to do your primary survey and transfer to backboard and load into the ambulance would be? Because it's a load and go situation do I do AED/airway/CPR and skip the primary until my patient has been revived?
If you could help, that would be great, thanks!

OnceAnEMT

Forum Asst. Chief
You're taking the term "CPR" far too generically.

To put simply, lets look at AHA guidelines. First thing you do. "Hey, are you OK? ARE YOU OK?" Shake. Pinch. "You, call 911. You, get the AED."

A/B - Look. Listen. Feel. Head tilt, chin lift.
C - Check carotid pulse for no longer than 10 seconds.

You sir, just did your primary assessment. Now start doing compressions if you don't feel that pulse. Cardiac Arrest is not a load and go scenario most of the time. You cannot effectively analyze a heart rhythm in the truck and probably won't be doing effective compressions. Unless you're 2 minutes from the ED, you best be calling ALS and that Pt will be worked on scene. Even in the ED, we have stopped a crew in the entrance and we didn't relocate the Pt into a room and into our bed until a pulse was present. Compressions are the meat of that war.

Here is a flowchart I made while I was prepping for my EMT-B practicals.

Here is that same flowchart, slightly modified to apply to the Athletic Training world. You'll see a CPR algorithm on the right. These are AHA protocols.

You're probably best off hitting Download at the top right of those screens to get a better view.

Trying not to turn this into a AHA vs protocols battle. For your test, AHA AHA AHA.

chaz90

Community Leader
Community Leader
^^I was typing up a similar post before Grimes beat me to it.