Chest X-Ray Randomness

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
So I am studying some chest X-rays for class and thought I would share. Although not really an EMS skill it still could be helpful in certain situations (CCT)

1. (A) Name that device (as specific as you can). (B) how do you differentiate between an ICD and a pacmaker (I am thinking of 3 ways) and (C) with a BiV / CRT in what vessel does the left lead rest

X-Ray-of-chest-and-heart-after-CRT-D-implantation.png

2. Name that condition

230px-Situs_inversus_chest_Nevit.jpg

3. What's going on here
ap.jpg

4. This on may be tricky. What's wrong with this intubation
cow129arr.jpg

5. Why is this pacemaker malfunctioning
chestdev_l.html

6. What kind of breath sounds do you expect in this patient?
279l.jpg

Last edited by a moderator:

STXmedic

Forum Burnout
Premium Member
Just a shot in the dark (no experience or education in reading CXRs)

1) I'm guessing AV pacemaker, just because of probe placement. Not a clue on the other questions though.

2) Dextrocardia?

3) Pericardial effusion

4) Right main-stem (edit: clearly wrong, didn't even look at the left side! I like JPs answer on no left lung.)

5) Can't see the picture

6) Rhonchi

Time to read up on pacemakers an ICDs :D

JPINFV

Gadfly
Highlight for my answers
1: Not sure
2: Situs inversus
3: Pericardial effusion?
4: Tension pneumo vs no left lung (no lung markings on the left)
5: No picture
6: Would like a 2 view, but it looks like pulmonary edema... so rales

OP
OP
VFlutter

VFlutter

Flight Nurse
Just a shot in the dark (no experience or education in reading CXRs)

Time to read up on pacemakers an ICDs :D

Ill let some other people respond before giving answers but you have some right and some wrong. For number 1 you are not wrong but only 1/2 right...

Here is another picture of #5.... It's not the best but I can't find any better ones
F1.large.jpg

usalsfyre

You have my stapler