BVM Question

SONOWUKNOW

Forum Ride Along
I'm relatively new to this ... a certified EMT-B but limited field experience. My question pertains to guidelines for using the BVM. It's clear enough and rather straight forward for the nonresponsive / arrest patient.... but not as clear with the altered mental status, loc pt.

The textbooks refer to the " assisted ventilations " scenarios.... my experience as limited as it is, has been a patient even those in significant distress isn't always willing to have anything placed over their mouth and nose no matter how reassuring we are.

Fortunately, we're usually within a 10 minute run to the local hospital and the non-rebreather has been a great " Plan B ". Some of the medics have been critical in our use of BVM.... but no one has been consistent in when to use or not use them.... any help is appreciated.

seanm028

Forum Lieutenant
In EMT school one of our teachers told us about a Pt he ran on that was having an asthma attack. His pulse ox was down to some ridiculously low value, but he was somehow still conscious and breathing on his own (definitely ALOC though, acting "loopy") so they sat him down and ventilated him for a little while they were preparing albuterol Tx, etc. Within a few minutes he was back up to normal LOC and they were able to transport him no problems.

Jolt

Forum Crew Member
Take this for what it's worth because I'm even newer than you are, but I've been taught, "Less than eight [resp/min], ventilate."

KEVD18

Forum Deputy Chief
vent medic should be along shortly to chime in here, being his forte and all, but i'll toss my 0.02 in the pile.

you would bag any patient that isnt adequatley ventilating on their own. sometimes that meas assisting spontaneous(sp) resps that are being made, sometimes its overriding the pt's vent rate to slow them down.

sometimes the concious pt wont let you bag them. nrb and haul gluteus maximus.

anyway, thats all i can think of 3 johhnie walkers deep. take care