Assessing BP

emtmike11

Forum Ride Along
I am a student in the early part of my paramedic program, currently taking my emt-b course. I've learned to take BP and all the vital sign stuff and my question relates to Bp in particular. Before listening for the blood pressure, how important is it that I palpate the brachial artery? Does doing so help provide a more accurate reading? And, what if I can't feel the brachial artery? Thank you for any feedback.

Shishkabob

Forum Chief
Palpating the artery before auscultation doesn't really change any thing. It really only helps you locate the correct place to put the diaphragm.

Its totally acceptable to put the stethoscope on the arm where you believe the artery might be and do the BP that way. Just remember not everyone is going to be in the same spot.

themuffin101

Forum Ride Along
^^he said it right. it is also pretty hard to palpate the artery on a large person. it is much easier to do it on a skinnier person.

EMTinNEPA

Guess who's back...
Personally, I always palpate the brachial artery before I even apply the cuff. It's just one of my habits, everybody has one. Worse comes to worse and you have a bigger person you can put the cuff on the forearm and auscultate the radial artery just like the brachial artery. It's usually quiter though.

Simusid

Forum Captain
FWIW I make an effort to palpate for a brachial pulse. I'm not sure how much it helps me though. I do have a related question though. It seems to me that there probably is an ideal or "sweet" spot to place the scope head, right over the artery. I'm sure that most of the time I do not hit that spot (which is why I'm practicing). When trying to hear the diastolic I'm listening hard for the last faint beat to disappear.

It seems to me that if the head is off the sweet spot, I will incorrectly hear it disappear sooner and I will report/record and incorrectly high diastolic pressure (and potentially an incorrectly low systolic).