Ambulance driver certificate

premedemt

Forum Ride Along
Hey all,

I'm a recently certified EMT in Northern California. I'm looking for jobs, but have not yet applied. Do I need to have an ambulance driver certificate at the time of applying to ambulance companies? Is there a course that I need to take in California for getting certification, or do i just need to read the DMV booklet, take the test, and I'm done? How am I supposed to learn how to drive the rig? I've been looking online but I never seem to find solid answers. I appreciate the help!!

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
All depends on the company on if you need it at the time you put in an application. It seems like it is a requirement at most companies tho.

You read the booklet from the DMV, get a medical physical, fill out some paperwork, get a background check, pay the money for the test, and take the test.

In California you only need to prove to your employer that you can drive the ambulance. You don't need to prove it to the DMV or CHP.

All the info you need about it:

http://www.dmv.ca.gov/dl/ambu_drvr_cert.htm

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
OP
P

premedemt

Forum Ride Along
How do I prove to the employer that I can operate an ambulance if I never took a course for it? How do I learn how to operate it? Is all knowledge on how to operate it in the dmv book?

DesertMedic66

Forum Troll
Your employer will move then likely put on an Emergency Vehicle Operator Course, EVOC for short. That is what "trains" you to drive.

Then most employers will have a Field Training time period where you will actually be driving on the road with code 2 (normal driving) and code 3 (lights and sirens).

During that Field Training time, that is where you prove to your employer that you can drive the ambulance.

The DMV booklet is more about the laws of driving an ambulance then actually driving.

Aprz

The New Beach Medic